Forge Project Fellows represent a broad diversity of cultural practices, participatory research, organizing models, and geographical contexts that honor Indigenous pasts as well as build Native futures.

2023 Forge Project Fellows

The 2023 Forge Project Fellows are Margeaux Abeyta (Taos Pueblo and Diné), Brent Michael Davids (Mohican/Munsee-Lenape), Lucy Grignon (Stockbridge-Munsee/Menominee), Emily Johnson (Yup'ik), Dr. Suzanne Kite (known professionally as Kite) (Oglála Lakȟóta), and Rachel Martin (Tlingít).

Margeaux Abeyta

Taos Pueblo and Diné

Brent Michael Davids


Lucy Grignon



Oglála Lakȟóta

Emily Johnson


Rachel Martin


The 2023 Forge Fellowship applications were reviewed by a jury of leading Native artists, scholars, educators, and former fellows, including culture bearer, artist, and 2022 Forge Fellow Ilegvak (Yup’ik); multimedia artist Jeffrey Gibson (Choctaw/Cherokee); legal scholar and 2021 Forge Fellow Jasmine Neosh (Menominee); Brandi Norton (Inupiaq, Kotzebue Alaska), Curator for Public Programs at Bard College’s Center for Indigenous Studies; and Audra Simpson (Kahnawake Mohawk), political anthropologist and professor at Columbia University. 

This year’s fellows from the Stockbridge-Munsee Community were selected in a parallel process by a separate panel, including journalist and author Suzette Brewer (Cherokee), Executive Director of Native American Tourism of Wisconsin (NATOW); Tatiana Lomahaftewa-Singer (Choctaw/Hopi), Curator of Collections at the IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts (MoCNA); and Indigenous health scholar and 2022 Forge Fellow Rainer Posselt (Stockbridge-Munsee Band of Mohican Indians).

2022 Forge Project Fellows

The 2022 Forge Project Fellows were Catherine Blackburn (Dene); Laura Ortman (White Mountain Apache); Rainer Posselt (Stockbridge Munsee Band of Mohicans); Sara Siestreem (Hanis Coos of The Confederated Tribes of Coos, Lower Umpqua, and Siuslaw Indians); Tania Willard (Secwepemc Nation); and Ilegvak, Peter Williams (Yup'ik).

The Forge Project Fellowship 2022 applications were reviewed by a juried panel of six distinguished Native scholars, artists, writers, and former Fellows: Misty Cook, Sky Hopinka, Dr. Rose Miron, Dr. Jolene Rickard, Dr. Meranda Roberts, and Dr. Anton Treuer.

2021 Forge Project Fellows

Forge Project's annual fellowship launched with a cohort of four individuals selected by inaugural Director of Education Heather Bruegl (Oneida/Stockbridge-Munsee). The 2021 Forge Project Fellows were Chris T Cornelius (Oneida), Sky Hopinka (Ho-Chunk Nation/Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians), Jasmine Neosh (Menominee), and Brock Schreiber (Stockbridge-Munsee Band of Mohicans).